blassilog

An average WordPress.com site

ETL 504 Blog Post 4

I have been thinking about the way my practice at school could be seen as leadership. In a way I have not been positioning myself as a leader this year. Being new to the school I have made the connections slowly. However I find that I will be burdened next year. Various staff changes and extra responsibilities will be placed with me. The school runs a number of special programs with outside organisations that I have been gaining experience with. As well as web site management, and taking responsibility for a lot of the technical running of things such as the school hall.

I am finding the study of leadership to be useful. As I am learning from this course about various different styles of leadership I have become more comfortable with the idea of leading.

I can see myself taking on the responsibility of managing school facilities and running large scale functions.

Practical questions from the modules that have been useful in focussing my thoughts on the role I can play.
What are the current financial conditions in the school?
What is the impact of new curriculum or programs that may be implemented?
What do your students think of the library?
What do the staff think?
How do staff and students use the library?
What do the parents think of the library?
What is the level of staff support?

Despite engaging with different surveys about my leadership style, and my personality type, and my learning style. And with genuine and sincere intentions, I found at that I couldn’t give my faith to such surveys. They were often too general and pigeon holed participants. My growing judgement of leadership is that it is ever-changing.

I found the mindtools survey the most engaging although it did criticise me for not having a big enough ego, or at least that is the way I read it.

I was particularly taken by the idea of fluctuation between being a leader and a follower (Hackman & Wageman, 2007). I felt more comfortable with the fluidity of leadership, it moved away from the dogmatic instructions other leadership theories hold.
Hackman, J., & Wageman, R. (2007). Asking the Right Questions About Leadership. American Psychologist, 62(1), 43-47.
How Good Are Your Leadership Skills? – Leadership Training from MindTools.com. (n.d.). Mind Tools – Management Training, Leadership Training and Career Training. Retrieved January 28, 2013, from http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newLDR_50.htm

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2013 by .
September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 286 hits
blassilog

An average WordPress.com site

